2019 Owls Athletics Awards Presented on Tuesday

2018-19 Athletic Banquet
2018-19 Athletic Banquet

COLUMBUS, Miss. – The 2nd annual Owls Athletics Awards Banquet was held on Tuesday at the Lion Hills Center and Golf Club to recognize athletic and academic performances during the 2018-19 academic year in The W Athletics Department. With awards presented by coaches for each team, 27 individuals were recognized as well as team awards and a coaching staff award.

The Coaching Staff of the Year Award was posthumously given to head women’s soccer coach Gray Massey. The award is given to the coaching staff who demonstrated honesty, integrity, concern for the student-athletes both on and off the field, and excellence in performance athletically and academically. Massey passed away early this year but during his time with the staff, he was a friend to all and he was committed to the Owls core values and the mission of the university. The Coaching Staff Award will now be named The Gray Massey Coaching Staff of the Year Award.

Receiving the All-Academic Award, the women’s volleyball team maintained a 3.47 GPA during the 2018 spring and fall semesters while having 12 Athletic Director’s List selections and six USCAA Academic All-American Selections.

The Male Athlete of the Year and the Female Athlete of the Year honors were given to senior men’s basketball player DJ Clark and senior softball player Madison Scoggin. The two awards are given to the male and female athlete who represented all-around excellence while upholding the Owls four core values; life, community, academics, and athletics.

Clark, who was also named men’s basketball MVP, averaged a double-double during the men’s basketball team inaugural season while leading his team in minutes played. He received a USCAA Player of the Week honor, was named Renasant Player of the Month two months in a row, was named to the USCAA All-American Third Team, and the Athletics Director’s List.

Scoggin ranks among the top five in two pitching categories and leads her team in almost every pitching category. She received USCAA Player of the Week recognition and Renasant Player of the Month recognition. Scoggin has already been accepted into a doctor of chiropractic medicine program while receiving Athletic Director’s List and the USCAA All-Academic honors. During the banquet, Scoggin was also named softball MVP.

The women’s basketball team’s USCAA championship game versus the University of Maine – Fort Kent was named as the Owls Game of the Year. After falling behind 7-0 in the opening moments of the game and several lead changes, the Owls battled their way back to defeat the Bengals 69-46. This championship marks the first championship for The W since the return of athletics.

The Heart and Soul Award was given to softball student-athlete Bailee Watts. The Heart and Soul Award is presented to the student-athlete who stands out and goes beyond the game. During the 2018-19 academic year, Watts demonstrated tremendous school spirit and good sportsmanship and continues to strive to be the best teammate possible.

This year’s recipient of the Owls Service Award was MUW Police Officer Frank Crowder. Each year the Owls Service Award is presented to a member of The W community who has gone above and beyond the call of duty and has made a visible impact on the lives of the student-athletes. Crowder is a staple of the university and has volunteered to be the officer on duty for every home games. He has always been there to lend a helping hand, even going as far as constructing ever locker and bench in every athletic locker room.

A complete list of awards is below:

Academic Team of the Year

Female Athlete of the Year
Madison Scoggin, Softball

Male Athlete of the Year
DJ Clark, Men’s Basketball

Heart and Soul Award
Bailee Watts, Softball

Game of the Year
The W vs. Maine – Fort Kent USCAA Championship Game

Owls Service Award
Frank Crowder, MUW Police Officer

The Gray Massey Coaching Staff of the Year
Women’s Soccer

Coach’s Choice Award
Lauren Smith, Women’s Cross Country
Grozie Thomas, Men’s Cross Country
John McGee, Men’s Soccer
Loren Schmitt, Volleyball
Chelsey Walker, Women’s Soccer
Dylan Cash, Men’s Golf
John David Topik, Baseball
Austin Taylor, Men’s Basketball
Katlyn Duke, Women’s Basketball
Emma Potter, Women’s Tennis
Heidi Matthews, Softball
Draden Meggs, Men’s Tennis

MVP Award
Lorena Surducan, Women’s Cross Country
Jabari Williams, Men’s Cross Country
Hector Mendoza, Men’s Soccer
Madison Lamon, Volleyball
Sarah Gilliland, Women’s Soccer
Brandon Walker, Men’s Golf
RJ Dell, Baseball
DJ Clark, Men’s Basketball
Tenazhia Hinkson, Women’s Basketball
Laura Kate Inman, Women’s Tennis
Marcus Montfort, Men’s Tennis
Madison Scoggin, Softball